Sign up for free newsletter


Managed Funds Association elects Ospraie's Eric Vincent as chairman

The board of the Managed Funds Association, the leading US industry body for alternative investment managers, has chosen Eric Vincent, president of Ospraie Management, as its new chairman.

The association's membership has elected six new directors for a two-year term: Trey Beck, managing director of D.E. Shaw; Arthur Bell, managing member of accountants Arthur Bell; Michel Brogard, managing partner of Amber Capital Investment Management; Norman Champ, general counsel at Chilton Investment, Peter Nussbaum, general counsel at SAC Capital Advisors; and Jim O'Brien, chief operating officer at Cantillon Capital Management.

Incumbent directors Sean Simon, co-president of Ivy Asset Management, and Sarah Street, chief investment officer at XL Capital Investment Partners, were re-elected for a second two-year term.

'MFA's new directors are eager to work together to address the fast-moving challenges and opportunities in today's hedge fund industry,' Vincent says. 'The board is dedicated to continuing its mission of advancing the growth of the industry while creating an environment of sound practices that will foster protection for the global markets and for investors.'

The association's 17 elected directors also include Jolyne Caruso, founder and chief executive of Alberleen Capital Management; Robert Caruso, managing partner of Highbridge Capital Management; Philip Duff, chairman and chief executive of Duff Capital Advisors; Patrick Egan, executive director of Morgan Stanley's managed futures business; George Hall, founder and chief executive of Clinton Group; Kevin Shannon, executive vice-president of Moore Capital Management; John Torell, chief financial officer of Tudor Investment; and Tracy Wills-Zapata, managing director of Campbell & Co.

Shannon has been chosen by the board as the association's vice-chairman and treasurer, with Robert Caruso becoming secretary. Beck, Duff, Hall, Nussbaum, Torrell and Will-Zapata will serve on the MFA's executive committee.

The board also includes four appointed directors: Dean Backer, a managing director at Goldman Sachs; Barry Barbash, a partner at Willkie Farr & Gallagher; Mark Casella, a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers; and Howard Leventhal, a partner with Ernst & Young.

'The MFA is grateful to its departing directors for their dedicated service and numerous contributions to the Association and the industry during a time of significant growth and maturation,' says the association's president John Gaine.

Five outgoing directors have completed two consecutive two-year terms: Robert Aaron, chairman of Gilwern Investments, who was MFA chairman for two years and conference committee chairman for four; Scott Bernstein, general counsel at Caxton Associates, who was MFA vice-chairman for two years; Adam Cooper, senior managing director and general counsel at Citadel Investment Group, who was MFA chairman for two years; John Kelly, president and chief executive officer at Man Investments; and Michael Neus, general counsel at Perry Capital, who was MFA secretary. Former Louisiana senator John Breaux, senior counsel at Patton Boggs and an appointed director, has also left the board.

Established in 1991 and based in Washington, DC, with an office in New York, the MFA's members include hedge funds, fund of hedge funds and managed futures fund professionals. The association acts as a source of information for policymakers and the media and seeks to promote sound business practices as well as industry growth.

7 hours 42 min from now - New York
1 week 7 hours from now - Abuja
2 weeks 7 hours from now - London
2 weeks 5 days from now - London
2 weeks 5 days from now - San Francisco
Mon, 15/05/2017   - London
Mon, 15/05/2017   - London
Mon, 15/05/2017   - London
IKONIC Fund Services Ltd.
Tue, 29/11/2016 - 12:28
Backstop Solutions Group
Tue, 08/11/2016 - 18:44
The Gemini Companies
Mon, 17/10/2016 - 12:51
other gfm publications