Sign up for free newsletter

 

All comment and opinions

Comment: Pause for reflection

Mon, 29/06/2009 - 07:00

At first sight, it might seem deeply inappropriate for two sectors of the global fund industry to have held their biggest and most high-profile get »

Comment: Europe strikes a blow for funds' freedom

Fri, 19/06/2009 - 07:00

The European Union is not in wildly good odour with the continent's fund industry at the moment. »

Comment: Does the EU need more financial regulation?

Mon, 15/06/2009 - 08:37

Some members of the financial industry in the UK are up in arms at the European Commission's plans to create a new layer of financial supervision a »

Comment: Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Fri, 05/06/2009 - 09:19

Charlie McCreevy, the European Commissioner responsible - albeit reluctantly - for the draft EU Directive on Alternative Investment Fund Managers, has announced plans for tighter regulatio »

Comment: Funds of hedge funds defy predictions of extinction

Fri, 29/05/2009 - 07:00

Funds of hedge funds were widely predicted to become one of the principal casualties of last year's annus horribilis for the hedge fund industry. »

Comment: The impact of Bermuda's new anti-money laundering regime on fund operators and administrators

Thu, 28/05/2009 - 09:00

Kathleen Moniz (pictured) and Elliot Hubbard of law firm Conyers Dill & Pearman explain the implications for fund management and administration »

Comment: Does Ucits already do the trick?

Fri, 22/05/2009 - 07:01

Last month the European Commission rolled out its draft Alternative Investment Fund Managers Directive, which is designed to bring order and regulation to the supposedly chaotic and stabil »

Comment: Regulation and tax pose dilemma for alternative managers

Sun, 17/05/2009 - 11:52

Will a combination of the UK's plans to increase taxation of the income and pension contributions of its wealthiest residents and the European Unio »

Comment: Complex and costly ETFs struggle to win investors' attention

Fri, 08/05/2009 - 09:13

Exchange-traded funds have enjoyed a good run with investors over the past few years. »

Comment: Regulate in haste, repent at leisure

Fri, 01/05/2009 - 07:00

When a piece of legislation is so roundly criticised on all sides as the European Commission's proposed Directive on Alternative Investment Fund Managers, attacked by the alternative fund »

events
12 hours 59 min from now - New York
4 weeks 2 days from now - New York
4 weeks 3 days from now - Houston, Texas
training
Mon, 12/12/2016   - New Haven
listingsdirectory
IKONIC Fund Services Ltd.
Tue, 29/11/2016 - 11:28
Backstop Solutions Group
Tue, 08/11/2016 - 17:44
The Gemini Companies
Mon, 17/10/2016 - 11:51
specialreports
other gfm publications