Sign up for free newsletter

 

All comment and opinions

Comment: Hohn keeps giving despite trickier times for TCI

Tue, 21/04/2009 - 07:00

The hedge fund industry's best known - and sometimes most controversial - charitable donor continues to deliver impressive performance for worthy causes despite a few unaccustomed setbacks »

Comment: KKR sees value in Indian spirits

Mon, 20/04/2009 - 07:00

US private equity major Kohlberg Kravis Roberts is reported to be interested in picking up a minority stake in Vijay Mallya's United Spirits group, primarily by acquiring treasury stocks t »

Comment: Is Cayman under threat as a fund domicile?

Fri, 17/04/2009 - 07:01

For most of the past decade, the Cayman Islands have been the world's dominant offshore alternative fund domicile. »

Comment: Holy hedge fund, conman!

Thu, 16/04/2009 - 07:00

Seven members of a church in Queens, New York, have been charged with fraud for allegedly misappropriating USD12m from would-be hedge fund investors. »

Comment: Goldman Sachs secondaries fund targets a buyer's market

Wed, 15/04/2009 - 07:00

Goldman Sachs, which posted better than expected results yesterday, has raised USD5.5bn from investors for a fund dedicated to buying private equity investments on the secondary market. »

Comment: Another episode in the short selling saga

Tue, 14/04/2009 - 06:57

The US Securities and Exchange Commission has published and invited comment on a choice of five alternative proposals that it is considering in an effort to restrict what is perceived as a »

Comment: Avoiding tax on deferred compensation assets

Fri, 10/04/2009 - 07:02

Kenneth Rubinstein, an asset protection attorney with New York law firm Rubinstein & Rubinstein, says that a structure involving a hybrid trust and foreign life insurance can enable »

Comment: Private equity firms pile into auction for Verizon Wireless

Thu, 09/04/2009 - 07:01

Verizon Communications is divesting its wireless telephone assets and at least three private equity firms are reported to be in the running, with Blackstone Group said to have submitted a »

Comment: Summers the super salesman

Wed, 08/04/2009 - 06:00

It has just emerged into the public domain that Larry Summers, director of the National Economic Council for President Barack Obama, earned more than USD5m from hedge fund manager D.E. »

Comment: Candover calls a halt to investment

Tue, 07/04/2009 - 07:00

There was once a time when taking a pause in investment activity would have meant missing plethora of missed opportunities. »

events
5 weeks 5 days from now - New York
5 weeks 6 days from now - San Francisco
6 weeks 5 days from now - Los Angeles
6 weeks 5 days from now - Hong Kong
listingsdirectory
Eden Rock Capital Management
Wed, 15/06/2016 - 17:30
UBS Global Asset Management
Fri, 06/05/2016 - 14:19
RFA (Richard Fleischman & Associates)
Tue, 05/04/2016 - 14:25
training
Wed, 21/09/2016   - London
Wed, 28/09/2016   - London
Thu, 29/09/2016   - London
specialreports
other gfm publications