Sign up for free newsletter


All comment and opinions

Comment: Och-Ziff makes hay as prop desks lick their wounds

Thu, 23/04/2009 - 07:00

Hedge funds are seeing less activity from the competing proprietary trading desks of investment banks, making it easier for them to capitalise on i »

Comment: Permira's fundraising hurdle may be a boon

Wed, 22/04/2009 - 09:52

Private equity firm Permira has received some welcome news with the announcement by SVG Capital, the biggest investor in its funds, that following a strategic review SVG intends to cont »

Comment: Hohn keeps giving despite trickier times for TCI

Tue, 21/04/2009 - 07:00

The hedge fund industry's best known - and sometimes most controversial - charitable donor continues to deliver impressive performance for worthy causes despite a few unaccustomed setbacks »

Comment: KKR sees value in Indian spirits

Mon, 20/04/2009 - 07:00

US private equity major Kohlberg Kravis Roberts is reported to be interested in picking up a minority stake in Vijay Mallya's United Spirits group, primarily by acquiring treasury stocks t »

Comment: Is Cayman under threat as a fund domicile?

Fri, 17/04/2009 - 07:01

For most of the past decade, the Cayman Islands have been the world's dominant offshore alternative fund domicile. »

Comment: Holy hedge fund, conman!

Thu, 16/04/2009 - 07:00

Seven members of a church in Queens, New York, have been charged with fraud for allegedly misappropriating USD12m from would-be hedge fund investors. »

Comment: Goldman Sachs secondaries fund targets a buyer's market

Wed, 15/04/2009 - 07:00

Goldman Sachs, which posted better than expected results yesterday, has raised USD5.5bn from investors for a fund dedicated to buying private equity investments on the secondary market. »

Comment: Another episode in the short selling saga

Tue, 14/04/2009 - 06:57

The US Securities and Exchange Commission has published and invited comment on a choice of five alternative proposals that it is considering in an effort to restrict what is perceived as a »

Comment: Avoiding tax on deferred compensation assets

Fri, 10/04/2009 - 07:02

Kenneth Rubinstein, an asset protection attorney with New York law firm Rubinstein & Rubinstein, says that a structure involving a hybrid trust and foreign life insurance can enable »

Comment: Private equity firms pile into auction for Verizon Wireless

Thu, 09/04/2009 - 07:01

Verizon Communications is divesting its wireless telephone assets and at least three private equity firms are reported to be in the running, with Blackstone Group said to have submitted a »

1 day 23 hours from now - Southampton, Bermuda
2 days 23 hours from now - Shanghai
3 days 23 hours from now - Chicago
4 days 23 hours from now - Bratislava
1 week 4 days from now - London
Thu, 10/11/2016   - London
Tue, 22/11/2016   - London
Mon, 28/11/2016   - London
The Gemini Companies
Mon, 17/10/2016 - 12:51
FundCount LLC
Tue, 04/10/2016 - 10:30
Thu, 29/09/2016 - 21:25
other gfm publications