Sign up for free newsletter


All comment and opinions

Comment: Summers the super salesman

Wed, 08/04/2009 - 06:00

It has just emerged into the public domain that Larry Summers, director of the National Economic Council for President Barack Obama, earned more than USD5m from hedge fund manager D.E. »

Comment: Candover calls a halt to investment

Tue, 07/04/2009 - 07:00

There was once a time when taking a pause in investment activity would have meant missing plethora of missed opportunities. »

Comment: Mr Zwirn's bad timing

Mon, 06/04/2009 - 07:00

Daniel Zwirn is facing tough times. His firm, D.B. Zwirn & Co, is being eyed by a number of bidders as it tries to recover from a financial scandal. »

Comment: The devil's still in the details

Fri, 03/04/2009 - 07:02

The G20 summit has reached its conclusion with a united front, after a last-minute squabble with China about whether Hong Kong and Macau should be classified as tax havens, and it's now of »

Comment: Private equity fundraising takes a hit

Thu, 02/04/2009 - 06:58

Private equity fundraising in the first three months of 2009 dropped to its lowest level in more than five years - news that will be a surprise to few - while the number of buyout firms sc »

Comment: Making money in bad times

Wed, 01/04/2009 - 07:00

Positive news has been thin on the ground over the last year and a half as the global economy continues to spiral downward. »

Comment: Warburg Pincus gets busy in March

Tue, 31/03/2009 - 07:00

Warburg Pincus was to the fore in one of the busiest months for private equity in recent memory. »

Comment: Will hedge funds quit London?

Mon, 30/03/2009 - 06:59

The writing is on the wall (or at least in the press). »

Comment: Regulatory challenges for fund managers

Fri, 27/03/2009 - 06:00

Financial Services Authority asset management sector leader Dan Waters outlines the scope of the Turner Review, the FSA's view on the appropriate regulatory framework for hedge funds, a »

Comment: Is there value for private equity in aircraft finance?

Thu, 26/03/2009 - 05:58

Aircraft finance, a business that was booming before the credit crunch struck, is now reeling, and many financial institutions are looking to sell these businesses. »

59 min 25 sec from now - Southampton, Bermuda
1 day 59 min from now - Shanghai
2 days 59 min from now - Chicago
3 days 59 min from now - Bratislava
1 week 2 days from now - London
Thu, 10/11/2016   - London
Tue, 22/11/2016   - London
Mon, 28/11/2016   - London
The Gemini Companies
Mon, 17/10/2016 - 12:51
FundCount LLC
Tue, 04/10/2016 - 10:30
Thu, 29/09/2016 - 21:25
other gfm publications