Sign up for free newsletter


All comment and opinions

Comment: Soros calls for sea change in economic philosophy

Wed, 25/03/2009 - 06:01

Legendary hedge fund manager George Soros has expressed concern that the lessons of the current downturn are not being correctly learned by the world's economic policy-makers, who may be s »

Comment: CVC no longer in pole position?

Tue, 24/03/2009 - 05:59

With the 2009 Formula One season about to open next weekend, CVC Capital Partners, the owner of the commercial rights to the championship, must be hoping that it will escape further collat »

Comment: Colourful former New Star manager returns to the fray

Mon, 23/03/2009 - 06:01

Alan Miller, one of the City's most colourful fund managers, has teamed up with Alexander Spencer-Churchill to set up a wealth management firm. »

Comment: Independent value - maximising the benefit of independent offshore directors

Fri, 20/03/2009 - 06:00

Scott Lennon, a senior vice-president at Walkers Fund Services in the Cayman Islands, examines the impact of the credit crisis on the role of indep »

Comment: Aquiline Capital sees value in fund administration

Thu, 19/03/2009 - 06:00

New York-based private equity firm Aquiline Capital Partners has made an investment in HedgeServ, a hedge fund administration company founded by James Kelly and Gene Mannella. »

Comment: EU hedge fund law due in April

Wed, 18/03/2009 - 06:00

Hedge fund managers will be waiting on tenterhooks next month to see what kind of regulations the European Union will propose to impose on the hedge fund and private equity sectors, after »

Comment: Private equity investors write off Setanta stakes

Tue, 17/03/2009 - 05:58

Setanta, the only real competition to the UK's undisputed pay-TV champion BSkyB, has seen its private equity backers write off the value of their stakes as the outlook becomes more gloomy »

Comment: TCI cuts its losses in India

Mon, 16/03/2009 - 06:01

The Children's Investment Fund Management, the hedge fund firm founded by Christopher Hohn, has emerged as the single largest seller of Indian stocks among foreign institutional investors. »

Comment: Board behaviour - corporate governance for investment funds

Fri, 13/03/2009 - 06:55

Madeleine Cordes, vice-president at Walkers Corporate Services in the Cayman Islands, outlines the steps Cayman funds should be taking to ensure ef »

Comment: Citadel ready to rise again

Thu, 12/03/2009 - 06:00

Citadel Investment Group, whose two biggest funds fell by some 55 per cent in 2008, is ready to return to investors after starting the new year in sparkling form. »

11 hours 59 min from now - Chicago
1 day 11 hours from now - Bratislava
1 week 12 hours from now - New York
1 week 12 hours from now - Cape Town
1 week 12 hours from now - London
Thu, 10/11/2016   - London
Tue, 22/11/2016   - London
Mon, 28/11/2016   - London
The Gemini Companies
Mon, 17/10/2016 - 12:51
FundCount LLC
Tue, 04/10/2016 - 10:30
Thu, 29/09/2016 - 21:25
other gfm publications