Global Outlook 2024 Report


Like this article?

Sign up to our free newsletter

New Exchange Council of EEX elected

Related Topics

Following the end of the Exchange Council’s term of office of three years, the trading participants of the European Energy Exchange (EEX) elected a new Exchange Council in accordance with the applicable schedule on 7 May 2015. 

The Exchange Council represents the interest of the trading participants and is involved in all essential decisions of the exchange. It has in total 24 members and, for example, approves the rules and regulations of the exchange and changes to it. The participants vote in different election categories in order to adequately represent the different interests on the Exchange Council. The election was carried out via postal vote and resulted in the following new composition in the five groups.

The group of interconnected utilities and trading companies is represented by:
• Michael Bonde, E.ON Global Commodities SE
• Paul Dawson, RWE Supply & Trading GmbH
• Jens Göbel, ENI Trading & Shipping SpA
• John Grey, EDF Trading Limited
• Pierre Guesry, Alpiq AG
• Peter Heydecker, Vitol S.A.
• Dr. Carsten Poppinga, Statkraft Markets GmbH
• Andrea Siri, Edison Trading S.p.A.
• Dr. Bernhard Walter, EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG
• Leonardo Zannella, Enel Trade S.p.A.

The group of municipal and regional suppliers is represented by:
• Ralf Henze, Stadtwerke Hannover AG
• Malte Neuendorff, EWE Trading GmbH
• Dr. Michael Redanz, MVV Trading GmbH
The group of banks and financial service providers is represented by:
• Matteo Ballarin, Europe Energy SpA
• Dr. Wolf B. von Bernuth, Energy & More Energiebroker GmbH und Co. KG
• Christoph Bilshausen, BNP Paribas
• Jason LaBrooy, Macquarie Bank Limited

Vincent van Lith, Deutsche Bank AG, was elected as the representative of the group of the members of the EEX clearing house. Bastien Le Bouhellec, Solvay Energy Services, represents the group of commercial consumers.

In addition to the trading participants of the exchange, the four associations Bundesverbandes der Energie- und Wasserwirtschaft (BDEW), VIK Verband der Industriellen Energie- und Kraftwirtschaft e.V., BDI Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e.V. und die European Federation of Energy Traders (EFET) will delegate one representative each to this board.

In addition to these members, the Exchange Council will elect one representative from the energy science.

The chairman and deputy chairman of the Exchange Council will be elected in the constitutive meeting of the Exchange Council in Leipzig on 10 June 2015.

In his capacity as the acting chairman of the Exchange Council, Peter Heydecker wishes to thank those members who will leave the Council – Nicolas Barbannaud, EDF Trading Limited, Pierre Chevalier, DB Energie GmbH, Werner Fleischer, Verbund Trading GmbH, Nicole Hildebrand, Morgan Stanley, Edgar Röck, TIWAG – Tiroler Wasserkraft AG, Dr. Heiko Sanders, EWE AG und Christophe Solere, Susquehanna Ireland Ltd. – for the constructive and trusting cooperation on behalf of the Exchange Council.

The European Energy Exchange (EEX) is the leading energy exchange in Europe. It develops, operates and connects secure, liquid and transparent markets for energy and commodities products. At EEX, contracts on Power, Coal and Emission Allowances as well as Freight and Agricultural Products are traded or registered for clearing. Alongside EEX, APX-Belpex, EPEX SPOT, Powernext, Cleartrade Exchange (CLTX) and Gaspoint Nordic are also part of EEX Group. Clearing and settlement of trading transactions are provided by the clearing house European Commodity Clearing

Like this article? Sign up to our free newsletter

Most Popular

Further Reading