Digital Assets Report


Like this article?

Sign up to our free newsletter

MFA announces 2017-2018 Board of Directors

Related Topics

The Managed Funds Association (MFA) has announced its 2017-2018 Board of Directors. The new Board and officers will provide governance oversight to MFA and guide the Association’s advocacy, education and communication efforts.

MFA’s Board unanimously elected Michael S Harris, President, Campbell & Company LP as Chair; Jonathan Hitchon, Managing Director, Chief Operating Officer, Two Sigma Investments LP, as Vice Chair; and Duncan Ford, Partner, Chief Operating Officer, Marshall Wace LLP, as Secretary. The board re-elected Natalie Deak Jaros, Partner,EY, as Treasurer.
“Fund managers and investors alike have come to depend on MFA’s influential advocacy, education and communications efforts. That leadership is especially important now as so many policy and regulatory discussions in the U.S. and Europe are underway,” says Harris. “Our new, diverse board is well-suited to guide MFA’s efforts to address the challenges of today, while helping to build an even stronger and more robust industry for tomorrow.” 
The following Members were elected to serve a two-year term on the Board: David Angstreich, Partner, Chief Operating Officer, Chief Financial Officer, Valinor Management LP.;
Scott Schroeder, Co-Founding Partner, Balyasny Asset Management LP.;
Zion Shohet, Chief Operating Officer, Elliott Management Corporation;
Jennifer Stier, Managing Director, Chief Operating Officer, Highfields Capital Management LP;
Kirk Wickman, Chief Operating Officer, Angelo, Gordon & Co LP.
MFA also appointed four Members to serve a one-year term on its Board:
M Barry Bausano, CEO and President, Deutsche Bank, Securities, Inc & Chairman of Hedge Funds, Deutsche Bank;
Whitney A. Chatterjee, Partner, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP;
Samuel N. Gallo, Chief Investment Officer, University System of Maryland Foundation, Inc;
Louis V. Molinari, Managing Director, Head of Capital Solutions, Barclays. 
Additionally, incumbent Board Members who were re-elected or reappointed to another term are:  
Leda Braga, CEO, Systematica Investments Limited;
Eric Burl, Head of Americas, Man Group;
Anthony J DeLuca, Chief Financial Officer, Moore Capital Management, LP; 
Edward H Dougherty, National Hedge Fund Leader, Deloitte;
Thomas Droumenq, Managing Director, Head of Sales, Americas, Société Générale; 
Josh Gold, Chief Operating Officer, Three Bays Capital LP; 
Jeanmarie Grisi, Chief Investment Officer, Pension Investments, Nokia;
Christopher Hayward, Managing Partner and Chief Operating Officer, Highbridge Capital Management, LLC;  
Chris Hedberg, Chief Financial Officer, CarVal Investors;
Joel Hinkhouse, Senior Investment Manager, Teacher Retirement System of Texas;
Frank La Salla, Chief Executive Officer, BNY Mellon Corporate Trust;
Ajay Nagpal, Chief Operating Officer, Millennium Management LLC;
Andrew Rabinowitz, President & COO, Partner, Marathon Asset Management, LP.;
George Sullivan, Executive Vice President, Global Head of Alternative Investment Solutions, State Street Corporation.  
Paul N Roth, Partner, Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP, will remain a special advisor to MFA’s Board.
MFA also announced its new Executive Committee would consist of Harris, Burl, DeLuca, Ford, Gold, Hedberg and Hitchon. Executive Committee Members serve one-year terms.
MFA also expressed its appreciation to departing Board Members:
Bruce S Darringer, Member and Chief Operating Officer, King Street Capital Management;
Bryan T Durkin, Chief Commercial Officer, CME Group;
David C Haley, President, HBK Capital Management;
Daniel H Kochav, Partner and Chief Operating Officer, Tenor Capital Management Company, LP.;
Tim Levart, Managing Member, Chief Operating Officer, Davidson Kempner Capital Management LP;
Reinhardt Olsen, Managing Director, Global Head of Prime Brokerage, UBS Securities LLC;
Eric N Vincent, Chief Executive Officer, The Electrum Group LLC;
Steven M Wagshal, Chief Operating Officer, Samlyn Capital, LLC;
Kimberly G Walker, Executive in Residence, Washington University in St. Louis.
“MFA is widely recognised as the authoritative voice of our industry. That distinction is due, in large part, to the active participation of our Membership,” says MFA President and CEO Richard H Baker (pictured). “We owe a tremendous debt of gratitude to all of our Members, but especially outgoing Board Chair David Haley. Under his extraordinary leadership, David has made our organisation and industry even stronger.”

Like this article? Sign up to our free newsletter

Most Popular

Further Reading